Badminton Ruling Bodies – Singapore Badminton Association


Singapore Badminton Association

Founded in 1929, the Singapore Badminton Association has always strived to be one of the leading badminton clubs in the world. Today, it is home to thousands of badminton enthusiasts. It has also produced noted player such as EJ Vass, Koh Keng Siang, Leow Kim Fatt, Tan Chong Tee and SA Durai. Singaporean players reigned in the All England Tournament in 1950, 1951, 1952, and 1955. Players Wong Peng Soon, Ong Poh Lim, and Ismail Marjan made their marks in the international badminton scene by capturing almost all doubles titles in the world. Today, the association works to maintain badminton’s status of being one of the top 5 popular sports in Singapore, and the most popular racket sport. The association is also keen on adding more participants in its activities, with a targeted increase of at least 30,000 by 2005.