Lacrosse Rules – Governing Bodies

Below you will find links to many of the worlds largest Lacrosse Rules Organizations and Governing Bodies. Click on the links below for more information about the organizations listed.

Basic Rules of Lacrosse:

Lacrosse was originally called baggataway and was first played by Native Americans as early as the 15th century. Native Americans play the sport for various reasons – they do so for religious rituals, training of warriors, or to settle inter-tribal disputes. A combination of football, hockey, and basketball, lacrosse used to be played by as few as 100, to as many as 1,000 men and lasted two to three days, sunrise till sunset.

The object of a lacrosse game is to put a 5 oz. hard-rubber ball to the opponent’s net using a long-handled stick with a triangular pocket at the end – while keeping one’s opponent from doing the same. A lacrosse team has 10 positions, which includes: one goalie, three attackmen, three midfielders, and three defensemen.