International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse

International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA)
Homepage: /
Rules and regulations: /?fileid=rules


Organized in 1972, the International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA) aims to promote and develop women’s lacrosse throughout the world. Inaugural members include Australia, England, Scotland, Wales and USA.

IFWLA has been organizing the sport’s World Cup every four years since 1982. The USA has reigned the World Cup since the beginning, except in 1986 where they were defeated by Australia. Efforts are underway for the conduct of the seventh IFWLA World Cup in 2005.
To date, IFWLA has 10 member nations participating in World Cup competitions, including Canada, US, Scotland, England, Wales, Sweden, Germany, Czech Republic, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand. As of late, IFWLA has experienced significant increase in member countries as lacrosse continues to increase its popularity in the international scene. IFWLA has also been receiving significant interest from various Asian, European, and South American countries: proof to its looming major presence in the international sporting scene.