Badminton Rules – Governing Bodies

Below you will find links to many of the worlds largest Badminton Rules Organizations and Governing Bodies. Click on the links below for more information about the organizations listed.

Basic Rules of Badminton
A sport similar to tennis, badminton is played by either two opposing players (singles) or two opposing pairs (doubles). Players are positioned at the opposite ends of the court, aiming to hit a shuttlecock over the net so that it lands inside the marked boundaries of the court, and their opponents from doing the same. Only the server can win points. Just like tennis, there are five main categories in badminton: men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles and mixed doubles (each pair is composed of one man and one woman). A game of badminton is played on a court measuring 6.1 m/20 ft by 13.4 m/44 ft. There is a net (0.8 m/2.5 ft deep and a height of 1.52m/5 ft) stretched across the middle of the court where the shuttlecock must be sent over.