Baseball Rules – Governing Bodies

Below you will find links to many of the worlds largest Baseball Rules Organizations and Governing Bodies. Click on the links below for more information about the organizations listed.

Basic Rules of Baseball
Baseball, considered as one of the national pastimes in the US, derives its name from the four bases that form a diamond (the infield) around the pitcher’s mound. It is a ball game played with
a bat and ball, by two teams each composed of nine players. Baseball rules describe home plate, where each batter stands when it is their turn at bat; there is also the first base, second base, and third base. Each of the teams takes turns in the field and at the bat, with the home team battling last. An inning is constituted by one turn at bat for each team, while nine innings constitute a game.

The rules of baseball call for the player’s positions to include the pitcher, the catcher, the first baseman, the second baseman, the third baseman, the shortstop, the left fielder, the center fielder, and the right fielder. When one team is on the field, the other team takes turns among its members, at batting the ball.

The object of the game is to score runs or keep the other team from scoring runs. Runs are scored by the batter hitting the ball any place inside the foul lines and then running to first, second, and third bases, consecutively, and then returning to home base. Click any of the links above for the major governing bodies and their baseball rules.