Badminton Ruling Bodies – Badminton World Federation


Badminton World Federation

The Badminton World Federation, the world’s governing body for the sport, has come a long way since it was founded in 1934. The federation’s membership significantly increased after badminton’s debut during the Barcelona Olympics. From its nine inaugural members – including Canada, Denmark, England, France, Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand, Scotland, and Wales – the federation now has155 members. The federation is headed by a president, a maximum of seven vice-presidents, continental representatives, and 12 other members.

Milestones in the federation’s history include its first major tournament in 1948. It was succeeded by several other international competitions such as the Uber Cup, World Championships, Sudirman Cup, World Juniors, and World Grand Prix Finals. To add further excitement in the international badminton scene, the federation is preparing bigger and more ambitious competitions to attract more sponsors and media coverage.