British Basketball League (BBL)


British Basketball League

An independent company owned by its member clubs, the British Basketball League (BBL) governs United Kingdom’s top men’s basketball confederation. BBL’s jurisdiction extends to numerous basketball clubs from Glasgow to Brighton – with each club operating in a distinct area to maximize commercial and media value in the local community. To date, there are 10 BBL franchises: Birmingham, Brighton, Chester, Leicester, London, Milton Keynes, Newcastle, Scottish, Sheffield, and Thames Valley. Every season, these clubs compete for the BBL Championship, in which the teams play each other four times over the course of the season.

BBL considers itself as the only fully professional league in the UK, and is administered separately from another federation, the English Basketball League. The English Basketball League is different from BBL in that they have only a limited number of full-time professional players.