International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF)


International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF)
Homepage: /
Rules and regulations: /channels/iihf-world-championship/home/format-rules.html


Since 1908, the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) has been governing, developing, and promoting men’s and women’s ice and in-line hockey all over the world. Among others, IIHF’s duties include arranging media coverage and sponsorships for all its competitions; implementing a standard set of rules and regulations for all its member nations; developing young players, coaches, and officials; and serving as liaison with other sports federations and bodies. IIHF-organized competitions are the European Senior Championships, World Senior Championships, Olympic tournaments, European Junior Championships, World Junior Championships, and Asia/Oceania Junior Championships.

To date, IIHF has about 63 member-nations – a feat it has accomplished due to steady membership increases during the 1980s and 90s. Among the nations which signified membership in IIHF in the last 15 years are: Greece, Iceland, Andorra, Ireland, Brazil, Mexico, Kuwait, Israel, Turkey, Chinese Taipei , Hongkong , Thailand, India, Singapore, Argentina, Namibia, Macedonia, and Liechtenstein.