NCAA Softball


NCAA Softball
Rules and regulations: /images/ncaasports


Since 1910, softball has become one of sports sanctioned by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). NCAA, a volunteer organization composed of approximately 1,200 colleges, universities, athletic conferences, and sports organizations, is dedicated to the effective governance of intercollegiate athletics.

While NCAA has been administering college sports since 1910, it was only in the 1980s when it started holding championships. In softball, 1982 was the year when the first women’s championships were held in the three divisions- with UCLA, Sam Houston St., and Eastern Conn. St. winning for divisions 1, 2, and 3, respectively. Latest champions include UCLA (2003) in Division 1, Angelo State (2004) in Division 2,and St. Thomas (2004) in Division 3.