United States Tennis Association (USTA)


United States Tennis Association (USTA)
Homepage: /en/home.html
Rules and regulations: /en/home/improve/what—the-call.html


The US takes pride in coming up with the world’s first national governing body for tennis: the United States National Lawn Tennis Association on May 21, 1881. As other national governing bodies, the association was formed to harmonize tennis rules and regulations, and to promote advancement of the sport in the county. In 1975, the association was named to what it is know today, the United States Tennis Association (USTA).

Membership in the USTA extends to all 50 states, including Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and Guam. There are 17 geographical sections in USTA, each maintaining a certain level of autonomy, each with its own staff to administer USTA programs, own tournament schedules, and own rankings.