Arena Football League (AFL)


Arena Football League (AFL)


Rules and regulations:

In 1987, Jim Foster, a former NFL and USFL executive, founded the Arena Football League (AFL) – America’s indoor football league. AFL has gone a long way since – now with extensive promotions and coverage, AFL averages about 12,000 spectators per game. AFL’s championship game, the ArenaBowl, also received considerable media coverage. These were made possible by a deal with the NBC television network in 2003 to televise league games.

Sometime in September 2004, AFL management announced a tentative league realignment and the elimination of three teams due to some of their players’ participation in a dispersal draft.

AFL is currently working to further promote their league, and has recently announced that the ArenaBowl championship will be held in Las Vegas for at least the next three years.