Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF)


Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF)
Homepage: /
Rules and regulations URL: /


CAF, Africa’s main football governing body, was officially created on August 2, 1957 by representatives from Egypt, Ethiopia, Sudan, and South Africa. Based in Cairo, Egypt, CAF is headed by President Issa Hayatou of Cameroon and general secretary Mustapha Fahmy of Egypt. Its current membership stands at 51 nations.

Prior to the creation of CAF, Africa was represented within FIFA by four national associations, which included Egypt affiliated in 1923, Sudan in 1948, South Africa in 1952 and Ethiopia in 1953. These four associations were then recognized as a regional group. However, during the 30th FIFA Congress in June 1956, African delegates – including Messrs. Abdelaziz Abdallah Salem, Mohamed Youssef and Mohamed Latif (Egypt), Abdel Halim Mohamed, Abdel Rahim Sheddad and Mohamed Ali Badawi (Sudan), and Fred W. Fell (South Africa) – decided to consolidate the efforts of these four national associations and agreed to create an African Football Confederation.