Confederacion Sudamericana de Futbol


Confederacion Sudamericana de Futbol (CONMEBOL)


With the aim of uniting football in South America, Uruguayan Héctor Rivadavia Gómez founded CONMEBOL in July 9, 1916. Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil and Chile were among the founder nations, followed by Paraguay (1921), Peru (1925), Bolivia (1926), Ecuador (1927), Colombia (1936) and Venezuela (1952).

CONMEBOL is currently being headed by Executive Committee chief Dr. Nicolás Leoz, who holds office at the confederation’s headquarters in Asunción, Paraguay.